Remove Duplicate Contacts

Overview

Occasionally a customer/client will be duplicated.  The instructions below will discuss how and when to either delete or merge the duplications.  

Determining Delete or Merge

Locate the duplicate customer/client record in a search.
Review the two client records to determine if an activity has occurred.  This can be located under the Usage tabs. 

Perform Find 


Check activity in the Usage Tab.


 If no activity in one of the records, it can be deleted.  If an activity has occurred, you will need to merge the records. 

Deleting a Customer/Client Record

Locate the record, use the delete in the top tool bar. 


If the below message appears when using delete, there is activity within the record, it cannot be deleted.  It will need to be merged. 


Merging Customer/Client Record

Locate the record you want to delete. The merge process will begin on that record.
Click on the Merge button on the top action toolbar.  An information pop-up box will appear.  The "Merge From" will be the information you wish to relocate to the desired record the "Merge To". 


Enter the Customer ID # for the customer being kept and merged to.  
















Once the Merge is completed and the activity records have been moved from the record.  That contact/client can then be deleted.  


Contacts-v23b8.2-20240516RB-KB

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful